• Alberni Valley Bulldogs
  • Chilliwack Chiefs
  • Coquitlam Express
  • Cowichan Capitals
  • Langley Rivermen
  • Merritt Centennials
  • Nanaimo Clippers
  • Penticton Vees
  • Powell River Kings
  • Prince George Spruce Kings
  • Salmon Arm Silverbacks
  • Surrey Eagles
  • Trail Smoke Eaters
  • Vernon Vipers
  • Victoria Grizzlies
  • Wenatchee Wild
  • West Kelowna Warriors
Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

Kings hand out year-end awards

The Powell River Kings had their year-end banquet Friday, March 31 to mark the end of the 2016-17 season. The event included handing out of team awards, which were as follows.

Sportsmanlike – Awarded to the King who has exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct on and off the playing surface. These qualities are used to their fullest during all games.

Winner: Hunter Findlater

Academic Awarded to the King who is most dedicated to his academic studies.

Winner: Ben Berard

Top scorer – Awarded to the King who scored the most points during the 2016-17 season.

Winner: Jonny Evans

Community – Awarded to the King who has actively been involved in community events throughout the entire season and was always willing to go the extra mile to make an impact in Powell River.

Winner: Jake Kohlhauser

Most improved – Awarded to the King who has improved the most on the ice from September to April.

Winner: Josh Coblenz

Plus/minus – Awarded to the King with the best plus/minus statistic.

Winner: Tristan Mullin

Popular/crowd favourite – Awarded to the King who is well-loved by both his teammates and Powell River and exhibits character on and off the ice.

Winner: Jonny Evans

Unsung hero Awarded to the King who has made a substantive impact yet is sometimes overlooked for his contributions.

Winner: Brian Wilson

True Grit – Awarded to the King who never gives up, is always digging and consistently shows courage and determination on the ice.

Winner: Gavin Rauser

Ron Armitage’s Three Stars player of the year – Awarded to the King who has earned the most stars over the course of the season.

Winner: Jonny Evans

Most inspirational – Awarded to the King that exhibits enthusiasm, passion and compassion both on and off the ice and gives inspiration to the players around them to put forth a bigger effort than thought possible.

Winner: Kyle Betts

Rookie of the year – Awarded to the King who has made the biggest impact on the ice as a first-year junior ‘A’ player.

Winner: Cam Donaldson

Top defenceman – Awarded to the King who has been the top player on the blue line this season.

Winner: Jake Kohlhauser

Coach’s choice – Awarded to the Kings who has best demonstrated, throughout the season, the true spirit of Kings hockey. It is given not only for hard work and personal improvement, but also for the willingness to understand, to learn and to partner with the coaching staff to recognize ones true potential.

Winner: Curtis McCarrick

MVP – Awarded to the outstanding King who has proved to be the most valuable to the team and has exerted the best performance over the course of the season.

Winner: Tristan Mullin

True Beauty Award – Awarded to the volunteer who demonstrates heart and compassion and consistently goes beyond the call of duty to assist the Kings.

Winner: Joe Mastrodonato

Volunteer of the year award – Recognizes an individual who has significantly contributed as a volunteer to the Kings Hockey Club all season long and has done so for a number of years.

Winner; Alicia Newman

Playoff MVP – Awarded to the King who was deemed to be the most impactful player in all areas of the ice over the course of the playoffs.

Winner: Kyle Betts

Share Now