Alberni Valley Bulldogs Chilliwack Chiefs Coquitlam Express Cowichan Capitals Langley Rivermen Merritt Centennials Nanaimo Clippers Penticton Vees Powell River Kings Prince George Spruce Kings Salmon Arm Silverbacks Surrey Eagles Trail Smoke Eaters Vernon Vipers Victoria Grizzlies Wenatchee Wild West Kelowna Warriors
Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

2019-20 Powell River Kings Awards

Powell River, BC – The Powell River Kings held their 2019-20 Awards Ceremony on the ice at the Hap Parker Arena on Saturday, February 22nd, 2020.

Tyler Kuntz (Head Coach and GM), Brock Sawyer (Asst. Coach), Kyle Bodie (Asst. Coach) and Nadine Porchetta (Director of Business Operations) gave out the following awards, as well as honoring four 20-year-old’s who played their final BCHL regular season game that night.

Players Player: Jack Long

As voted by the players, this King exemplifies what it means to be a team player and a Powell River King. This player always puts his team and teammates first, and will do all he can to make everyone around him better better as a person and as a player.

True Beauty Award: Jamie Parsons 

Awarded to the volunteer who demonstrates heart and compassion and consistently goes beyond the call of duty for the players.

Most Sportsmanlike: Nolan Krogfoss
Awarded to the King who has exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct on and off the ice. These qualities are used to their fullest during all games.

Most Academic: Nicolas Porchetta (3.8 GPA in six grade 12 courses) 
Awarded to the King who is most dedicated to his academic studies.

Iron Man Award: Ben Wozney

This is awarded to the King who makes and participates in every practice and game during the season. If a player missed a game or practice due to injury or sickness, that player cannot receive that Iron Man of the Year Award.

Most Improved Player: Nolan Krogfoss 
Awarded to the King who has improved most on the ice since the beginning of the season.

Three Star Award: Derek Krall
Awarded to the King who has earned the most stars over the course of the season.

Catalyst Paper Hardest Worker: Jack Brackett
Awarded to the King who never give up, is always digging and consistently shows courage and determination on the ice.

Unsung Hero Award: Jacob Slipec
Awarded to the King who brings needed intensity into the game or can be the one who lightens things up with levity.

Rookie of the Year: Michael Abgrall
Awarded to the King who has made the biggest impact on the ice as a first year Junior A player.

Top Defenceman: Jack Long
Awarded to the King who has been the top player on the blue line this season.

Top Scorer: Levi Glasman (22 goals)
Awarded to the King who has scored the most goals during the season.

MVP: Derek Krall & Jack Long
Awarded to the outstanding King’s who has proved to be the most valuable to the team.

Fan Favourite Award: Jack Long
Awarded to the King who is well-loved by both his team mates and the community as voted by the fans.

Don Smisko Volunteer of the Year: Kyle Bodie
Recognized an individual who has significantly contributed as a volunteer to the Kings hockey club all season long.

Community Award: Reilly Moran
Awarded to the King who has actively been involved in community events throughout the entire season, who was always willing to go the extra mile to make an impact in Powell River.

Graduating 20-Year-Old’s 

  • Jack Long (231 games played all-time, second in franchise history).
  • Derek Krall (17-7-5, 2.62 GAA / .917 SV% with Kings this season).
  • Levi Glasman (22 goals, 49 points this season).
  • Devin Leduc (7 goals, 14 points in 14 games since being acquired by the Kings).

Lifetime Achievement Award: Ron Armitage 

All pictures by Alicia Baas here:

Join the Kings Kingdom
Sign up to receive game updates, notifications on team events and much more!
Never display this again